The spiritual journey is a path of transformation, not of perfection. It’s about releasing what no longer serves you and the essence of our evolutionary process. The spiritual journey is all about realizing your truth, which can be summarized in one sentence: “I am here to love, heal and serve others.” But how do we go about this? One of the best ways experts like Teal Swan have found is not only to assess your life and uncover those limiting beliefs that are holding you back but also to work on healing your energetic system. I’m talking about the chakras (energy centers) and aligning them along with conscious breathing exercises that will help you stay present in the moment.

The Energetic System

I believe that the energetic system possesses both psychological and physiological functions. The energy centers (chakras) are thought to be major players in the psychic energy system. They govern our abilities to affect change on physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual levels. When one or more of them is closed, it can lead to a breakdown on those levels. For example, you may experience mental and emotional issues such as depression and anxiety and be unable to manifest what you want in your life because of it. Something must be off in your energy system in order to be unable to make changes in your life.

The entire system works like a gearbox; each of the seven centers are interdependent on one another, which means that if you have an imbalance in one, it will affect the others. For example, when you are angry or resentful, it is possible that your solar plexus is causing a block in the heart chakra, which makes you unable to forgive and love. There are seven major energy centers, while there are minor ones that we don’t need to explore; we will only be focusing on six of them.

The Root Chakra

The root chakra (located at the base of your spine) governs survival, grounding, and security. It also rules your connection to the physical world which means that it’s very important to keep this one clear. If you don’t feel safe in this world or like you can take care of yourself, chances are that it is out of alignment. This energy center is linked to primal instincts and how we interact with the physical world. When this one is not balanced, you will feel disconnected from your body and be unable to tap into your physical abilities.

The Sacral Chakra

I like to call this energy center “the playground of the chakras” because it has a lot of power. The sacral chakra (located below your navel) is about creativity, pleasure, emotions, and sexuality. When this one is not open, it’s common to feel disconnected from your desires or suppress them because you are afraid of what other people will think of you. Sometimes this energy center can be blocked by too much thinking, which makes it hard for us to tune into our instincts and intuition.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra (located above your navel) is about power and will. This is a vital energy center because it governs the heart and lungs as well as our sense of self worth. If this one is blocked, emotions such as guilt, shame, fear, and other negative feelings may arise. We experience power struggles when this chakra is not balanced, and the lack of self-confidence can cause us to turn towards addictions such as eating disorders, sex addiction, and overexercising.

Victoria james